Alarm rang.

Tony reached out his hand to stop it but he just tipped it off and it fell under his bed.

Geez, man, he said.

He stood up and picked up the clock and turned it off.

It displayed 6:00 AM.

I should get going, he said to himself.

He grabbed his jogging pants and sweat shirt as he made his way to the rest room.

As he went outside his apartment, he was greeted with a cold morning breeze.

I should hit 10km today, he said to himself.

He then made a right turn and started walking.

As he walked pass the Pub, he picked up his pace and started running.

Tony have been doing this everyday for the past months.

As he ran past people along the streets, he remembered who dragged him to this.

It was his ex-workmate Gino who insisted to join him in some of his runs.

Luckily, Tony got interested and since then it became his routine.

As he crossed the street, he noticed that there was a new store opening.

He made his way to the store’s direction, and noticed a familiar face.

As he went closer to the store, he saw a woman opening the store’s door.

The woman noticed him and somehow knew him.

“Oh Tony! It’s you!” she said with excitement.

He stopped in front of her and said “Hi! How are you?”

“Do you remember me?” she asked.

“Yeah, how could I forget? Stacy right?” he smiled.

“Who is Stacy? You forgot my name!” she said with a disappointed look.

“That was a joke, Lisa.” he explained.

Lisa smiled.

“It’s been 15 years I guess and you haven’t changed” she said.

“Oh I have changed. I am way taller now”, he joked.

“Alright I am short. Don’t point that out to me”, she replied.

As he looked at her, he remembered what a beauty she was back then.

She is now standing 5 feet and 2 inches in height. Slightly chubby but still have those sexy curves.

And those brown eyes that once mesmerized the 12-year old Tony.

He was his first crush and his first broken heart.

“Hey, Tony! Are you still with me?” she asked.

“Why are you spacing out? Oh I remember you had a crush on me before, right?” she added.

Geez, she remembered. He said to himself.

“That was centuries ago Lisa. I am way over it” He said.

“Really?” she leaned closer to him.

“Hey, what are you doing? People are watching.” He warned.

“I was just messing around Tony. But you got flustered easily”. She said laughingly.

“You never changed Lisa.” He said.

But that made Tony’s heart skip a beat.

“So what have you been doing lately? what’s your work?” Lisa asked.

“Oh, I am working as a programmer in one of the company’s down town”, Tony answered.

“Wow, that’s good to hear. Your also looking good for a techie type of guy”, Lisa said.

“What’s that supposed to mean?”, Tony asked.

“Ahem” said a man on her back.

“Oh, my bad. I forgot to introduce my fiancé, Eric”, Lisa explained.

“Eric this is my grade school classmate, Tony”, Lisa added.

“Hi, nice to meet you Tony.” Eric said while extending his hand to shake.

“Nice to meet you as well, Eric” and he shook Eric’s hand.

“I have been here for months, but this is the first time we stumbled on each other.”

“How long have you been here?” Tony asked.

“We just arrived here yesterday. A friend of mine is actually the owner of this bookstore.”

“But she has an important trip somewhere so she asked me to look out for this shop” Lisa explained.

“Today is the opening. If you’re not busy, you can drop by later.”

“You might be interested in some books.” Lisa added.

“Okay, that’s good to hear. Maybe I’ll buy some.” Tony replied.

“Oh, I forgot. I need to get ready before the guest comes. We should be going Tony”

“Nice meeting you again Tony”, said Lisa as she and Eric enters the store.

***

“What was that about?” Eric asked.

“What? Tony? Are you jealous?” Lisa replied.

“It seemed you were all over him awhile ago if I haven’t been there” Eric said.

“Are you out of your mind? He was just someone I know before.” Lisa explained.

“You should not be jealous. He was just an old friend.” Lisa added.

“He’d better be. Because I don’t want to lose you twice.” Eric said.

“You’ll never going to lose me honey” she said and kissed him.

***

Tony then continued running but he still can’t believe what he just ran into today.

Lost in thoughts, he bumped into a woman who was carrying books and a bag of bagels.

The books and a few bagels fell in the pavement and got dirt.

“Oh I am so sorry” Tony said as he helped the woman picked up the books and what was left of the bag.

The woman looked up to him and did not say anything.

“Are you okay?” Tony asked.

The woman just nodded in reply.

“Good. Wait, I’ll replace the fallen bagels. Wait for me here please”.

Then Tony ran to the nearest bagel shop and bought a bag of bagels.

When he returned, the woman was no longer there.

Only a piece of paper was left with a note,

“Let’s watch a movie.

Pick me up at 7PM in my place.”

Tony got curious who the girl was so he kept the note in his pocket.

==========================================================================

Phone rings.

Oh, what was that? Mary scanned the bed for the noise.

She was able to get a hold of her phone which seemed to show someone is calling.

“Hello?” She answered.

“Good morning, sweetheart! This is Ken”

She was never used being called with other names esp. sweet heart.

Bear with it, Mary. She said to herself.

“Oh! Hi. It’s still early Ken. Why did you call?” Mary asked.

“It’s 6AM. I have something for you at your doorstep.” Ken said.

“Okay, Ken. I’ll get it” Mary said with a big sigh.

She put on her robe and opened the door. There in the doorsteps are piles of books of literature.

There were 3 books. All were Shakespeare’s books.

“Wow! How did you know I love Shakespeare?” asked Mary.

“You mentioned one time you’d love to have one of his books. So I bought those for you” Ken replied.

“Thank you very much, Ken. I really like this” Mary exclaimed as she grab the books in her arms.

“You’re welcome. Look straight.” Ken instructed.

“Why?” She asked.

And then she saw Ken across the streets carrying something.

Mary smiled and cut the call and went to him.

“Hey what is that?” Mary was curious of what Ken was holding in his arms.

“These are warm bagels from one of the famous bagel shop here” Ken proudly said.

“Yeah, right!” Mary let out a laugh and added,

“Surely, it smells great!”

“Hey, can you hold this bag for a short while? I’ll go grab some hot coffee.” Ken said.

“Oh, sure. I’ll wait here.” Mary replied as she get the bag from Ken.

“Thanks, sweetheart” Ken said and he kissed her before walking away.

Geez. Sweetheart again. Why am I doing this? She said to herself.

She looked at the books and the bagels she was carrying and said to herself, “Stop complaining Mary. You asked for this”

And bagels smell so good. She said to herself.

Right then, she noticed a piece of paper in the bag.

She was wondering what it was.

May this is a note from Ken, she said to herself.

Out of curiosity, she carefully picked the note out from bag.

But before she could read it, a guy bumped her.

“Oh my god!” Mary exclaimed.

Because of the collision, the books and the bag slipped off her hands and fell into the ground.

She instinctively picked up the books and the guy helped her while saying he was sorry.

As she looked up and saw the guy. She knew him. He was the same guy she saw in the pub.

She became utterly speechless for some reason while the guy was asking if she was ok.

She just nodded.

I think he said something like buying another bag of bagels, she said to herself.

And she watched the guy disappeared.

She stood froze for a while then she heard a familiar voice.

“Hey, Mary what happened?” Ken asked.

“Some guy bumped me. And the books and bagels fell.” Mary explained.

“Geez, people these days. Okay let’s go while we still have something to eat.” Ken said.

“Okay” Mary replied. And they made their way back to the apartment.

“Oh! What happened?” Stella exclaimed as she opened her friend at the door.

“I was just a few minutes gone and some moron bumped Mary” Ken answered.

“Geez, That was unfortunate. Waaaah. I am sad for the fallen bagels! ” Stella said.

“Shut up Stella. You sounded like a 3-year-old” Mary said.

“Oh well, let’s just enjoy the remaining pieces then” Mary added.

“By the way, Ken. Did you leave some note inside the bag?” Mary asked.

“What note?” Ken retorted.

“Like a piece of paper” Mary explained.

“Nothing that I remember” Ken answered.

“Oh, okay. Maybe I had mistaken it with something.” Mary said.

The note was left off her mind. But the guy that made her speechless kept her thinking.

I don’t know him. But why I get this feeling? She said to herself.

Leave a Reply

