When I was a trainer, I usually memorize everything in my slides. I don’t want any thing written on it that I am not aware of. I want to appear to my students confident on my topic. I don’t want to be caught off guard during discussion wherein I cannot explain or answer what is written on my slide. It is a teaching disaster!

So, when I become I trainee myself, I really can’t stand trainers who just read their slides. Slides are just there for you to guide yourself in the discussion not for you to read in front of your students. If you start reading them aloud to your students, you are just lowering yourself as the same level with them. And that’s not good. Students should feel they can rely on you on the topics and not be worried that you don’t know the topic as well.

One rule of thumb I learned when I was a trainer, “maintain eye contact to your students”. Or at least, you should be looking at your students most of the time than your slides. Looking at them will give you an idea of your students’ state while you were teaching. Are they bored? Are they listening? Am I making sense? I always do this when I am training.

When I teach them about a topic, I will look at them for 2-3 secs. Then I will get a pretty good idea if they understood me or not. If they did not understand, I will go over it again or I will have them ask me questions before I proceed or I will ask them questions. Asking them questions will guide me what part of the topic was not clear to them.

I will not “read” the whole slide, and then ask “do you have any questions?”. Well, of course, they wont have questions, they just read the whole slide.

Knowing your students’ state while you are teaching will alert you that you need to change something. This is will  be an improvement action to you as a trainer.

That’s why teaching is a two-way learning, your students learn from you and you learn from them as well.

So when you teach, please don’t read. Or at least, minimize reading.

@copyright 2017. Charles Anthony Lerasan

 

Leave a Reply

